One of the most repeated comments we hear behind the cheese counter is "I wish I could have that, but I'm lactose intolerant." We have good news if that is your situation! The process of making cheese involves converting lactose into lactic acid. Although there are small amounts of lactose in fresh cheeses, as cheese matures almost all of the remaining lactose is converted to lactic acid by the cultures that are thriving within the paste of the cheese. Because of this, we often suggest that you try cheeses from the firm and hard categories to see how they affect you. Of course, we are not doctors; we are just cheesemongers trying to stop the spread of intolerance against cheese. So it is up to you to experiment.